Martha Grimes and The Black Cat

Just finished reading The Black Cat, Martha Grimes’ newest in the Superintendent Jury series.  It’s like catching up with old friends and acquaintances.  Jury is getting older and lonelier and Carole Anne is getting wackier.  Melrose Plant stays oddly eccentric.  The rest of the crew from Long Piddleton appear mostly in cameo but they are alive and well.  Any book that involves three black cats and Mungo the dog and manages to confound Harry Johnson even if he can’t be arrested ends well.  It was a quick read but a fun read.  I don’t want to write much more about the plot right now as it is so newly published and I don’t want to spoil the fun.

I look at the weirdly wonderful characters in books like these and I realize that there are people like this in the world. I’ve met folks like this in passing occasionally.  I wonder if I looked at the people I know with different eyes, whether I would see characters like this in my life.

Leave a Reply

